Banishing Bad Hair Days since 1997!™
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Question for Uzma

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
LiliBeach View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LiliBeach Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Question for Uzma
    Posted: June 24 2003 at 10:22pm
Hi Uzma,

I just read an article in today's paper about ear candleing. It claims to pull all the extra wax from the ear and to cure everything from migraine headaches to allergies. A few years ago, with a push from a friend, I tried this at home with my husband assisting. All that came out was ashes from the candle and I could not help but to wonder if this friend thought this was wax. (He wasn't know for his common sense) It also stated many religions used it in practices.

What is your view of this practice? I would love to hear your prespective. Do you think there is something to it or is it just a gimmick?

Lili
I am a professional Hairstylist/Haircolorist with 19 years experience. I have traveled all over the country for my advanced education. I am also a salon owner.:)........and I LOVE Redken!!!
uzma View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote uzma Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: June 25 2003 at 5:09am
Hi Lili

Aha - Thermo-Auricular Therapy.

In my humble opinion ear candles are a gimmick.
There are many claims as you say, Lili, but it's just sales pitch for the gullible.

With regards to sinusitis and upper respiratory tract blockages, I have found a combination of steam aromatherapy, ingestion of a hot chilli-tamrind brew and manual drainage (by massage) an unbeatable combination. And the results are direct and immediate.

Regarding headaches and migranes, these occur for many reasons. The underlying cause has to be identified and resolution is different in each case.