Banishing Bad Hair Days since 1997!™
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

46 yrs, broken hair, color damage, grey.

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
skylark View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote skylark Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 46 yrs, broken hair, color damage, grey.
    Posted: September 25 2004 at 11:06am
help. i am 46 yrs old, and i have hair below my shoulders, except for some pieces that have broken off.

i want to grow/keep it long.

i have been coloring my hair at home for about 4 years, using single-process permanent color. mostly clairol, the last 2 times loreal. up until 4 years ago, i went to a salon and had blonde highlights, but got to the point where my budget couldn't afford it. my hair is naturally a dark brown with about 50% grey at the roots/crown where it is most noticeable.

recently i tried a loreal product called color expert which put highlights in the hair, but it broke my very fine hair; i don't recommend it.

three months after using the loreal highlighting product, i colored over the highlights with a reddish permanent color by loreal. i am not sure, but i think loreal color may be harsher than clairol.

i am beginning to realize the effects all of this coloring and overprocessing has had on my hair. my hair is basically lifeless. it has no shine on its own. once the fake shine of the "color" wears off, it looks very dull and frizzy.

a lot of the pieces are broken off to above the ears. this isn't obvious to anyone if they are not looking closely, and if i have put product in it; i can fake them out.

i have been trimming it myself, using salon scissors i bought my self and use only on my hair. i recently trimmed around 2-3 inches off.

i am trying to figure out a way to go completely natural. i have so much grey at the crown it would make me look a lot older for my age.