Banishing Bad Hair Days since 1997!™
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Problems with links and images with Mac
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Problems with links and images with Mac

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
amm View Drop Down
Elite Member
Elite Member
Avatar

Joined: October 13 2004
Status: Offline
Points: 2252
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote amm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Problems with links and images with Mac
    Posted: March 29 2005 at 9:26am
Still having substantial problems trying to make hyperlinks and
embed images in posts. Several of us on the extension board (where
images play a large part in our tutorials) have absolutely lost our
ability to use these features.

If there are any Mac users out there who have the ability to make
links and include photos in posts, we'd love to hear from you.

Several PC users are having this problem as well.

Please help.
Back to Top
administrater View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: January 26 2005
Status: Offline
Points: 126
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote administrater Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March 29 2005 at 9:37am

According to my tests and other users, if you use the buttons above the edit box the images and links just work fine.

Do they not work for you?

 

Back to Top
eKatherine View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: August 06 2004
Status: Offline
Points: 1368
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eKatherine Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March 29 2005 at 10:07am
Test.



Image


http://www.katherinesweet.org/images/Frenchbraidbun1.jpg

It seems to work on this imac I'm at right now, though the links look odd. What
type of machine and system do you have?

Edited by Administrator - February 29 2012 at 9:30pm
Back to Top
amm View Drop Down
Elite Member
Elite Member
Avatar

Joined: October 13 2004
Status: Offline
Points: 2252
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote amm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March 29 2005 at 10:14am


No, it does not work. The above link is using the edit box to insert the
location of the photo. It doubles both the beginning and the ending
img tags. When I attempt to edit it manually, it automatically puts a
space in the url and I am unable to edit it out. This exact thing is
happening to another Mac user in the extension forum and also a PC
user.

I am on an iMac G5 with OSX running Safari.

Edited by Administrator
Back to Top
administrater View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: January 26 2005
Status: Offline
Points: 126
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote administrater Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March 29 2005 at 10:44am

Originally posted by amm amm wrote:

after.jpg">[/IMG]

No, it does not work. The above link is using the edit box to insert the
location of the photo. It doubles both the beginning and the ending
img tags. When I attempt to edit it manually, it automatically puts a
space in the url and I am unable to edit it out. This exact thing is
happening to another Mac user in the extension forum and also a PC
user.

I am on an iMac G5 with OSX running Safari.

When you say edit box... What do you mean? Do you mean the popup that comes up when you click the add image button?

I have tested this on OSX (fully patched) with Safari and Firefox and it works fine.

Back to Top
amm View Drop Down
Elite Member
Elite Member
Avatar

Joined: October 13 2004
Status: Offline
Points: 2252
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote amm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March 29 2005 at 11:07am
Sorry for the confusion, I've been up all night on graveyard.

I am using the IMG box (the mountain with the sun icon, second from
the right) to insert the url where the image resides. The link is
correct and when I click "ok", the url link drops down into the
message area and it has two "IMG" in brackets at the beginning of
the link and two closing "IMG" brackets at the end. The image will not
display.

When I manually delete one of the set of brackets, the photo still will
not display.

PS: I have no problem on my PC or the PC's I use at work. It must
be just me and a couple others on the hair extension board that can't
seem to tackle this because we simply cannot get it to work on the
Macs.



Edited by amm
Back to Top
administrater View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: January 26 2005
Status: Offline
Points: 126
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote administrater Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March 29 2005 at 12:21pm
I will test it again on my Mac.
Back to Top
administrater View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: January 26 2005
Status: Offline
Points: 126
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote administrater Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March 29 2005 at 1:03pm
Originally posted by amm amm wrote:

Sorry for the confusion, I've been up all night on graveyard.

I am using the IMG box (the mountain with the sun icon, second from
the right) to insert the url where the image resides. The link is
correct and when I click "ok", the url link drops down into the
message area and it has two "IMG" in brackets at the beginning of
the link and two closing "IMG" brackets at the end. The image will not
display.

When I manually delete one of the set of brackets, the photo still will
not display.

PS: I have no problem on my PC or the PC's I use at work. It must
be just me and a couple others on the hair extension board that can't
seem to tackle this because we simply cannot get it to work on the
Macs.



When you are putting the link in on your Mac, how are you doing this?

Are you highlighting the URL in the address line, copying and pasting?

Are you dragging and droping?

Back to Top
amm View Drop Down
Elite Member
Elite Member
Avatar

Joined: October 13 2004
Status: Offline
Points: 2252
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote amm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March 29 2005 at 7:10pm
Yes, I'm copying and pasting. I have also tried manually typing it in
and the end result is still the same.



Back to Top
amm View Drop Down
Elite Member
Elite Member
Avatar

Joined: October 13 2004
Status: Offline
Points: 2252
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote amm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March 29 2005 at 7:12pm
Edited by admin.

Edited by Administrator - February 29 2012 at 9:30pm
Back to Top
amm View Drop Down
Elite Member
Elite Member
Avatar

Joined: October 13 2004
Status: Offline
Points: 2252
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote amm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March 29 2005 at 7:13pm
Got it to work!

Testing hyperlink...

Yahoo!
Back to Top
amm View Drop Down
Elite Member
Elite Member
Avatar

Joined: October 13 2004
Status: Offline
Points: 2252
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote amm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March 29 2005 at 7:14pm
I don't know if you guys tweaked something today or perhaps my
computer started behaving after I went into disk utilities and fixed
some permissions but everything is running fine right now.

Thanks!
Back to Top
blacklisttom07 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2011
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote blacklisttom07 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: June 29 2011 at 4:17am
I am a newer here.
Glad to meet u.
Is anyone online?
Back to Top
eKatherine View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: August 06 2004
Status: Offline
Points: 1368
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eKatherine Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: August 11 2011 at 10:36am
The post you responded to is 6 years old. Did you have a question about how to make links and images?


Just looking for a few good hair slaves - is that too much to ask?
Back to Top
Karen Shelton View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: November 26 2000
Status: Offline
Points: 4503
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Karen Shelton Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: August 12 2011 at 6:42am
Hi eKatherine,

Good to see you.  I think what happens is that some of the newer visitors read lots of the posts going way back when and then post on that thread rather than starting a new one.  I need to probably lock this thread if you're OK with that?  Thanks so much for stopping by.
That which doesn't kill you makes you stronger or drives you totally insane. :-)
Back to Top
rakhidin158 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: August 05 2011
Status: Offline
Points: 17
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rakhidin158 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: August 12 2011 at 7:22am
I hope you don't lock threads.  I have been going back into lots of old ones to read.  Very helpful and informative.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down


Copyright 1997-2018, hairboutique.com, All Rights Reserved.
Terms of Service, Privacy Statement, Advertise, Contact Us, Press, Disclaimer