Banishing Bad Hair Days since 1997!™
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - SOMEONE - ANYONE pls help regarding botched perm !
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

SOMEONE - ANYONE pls help regarding botched perm !

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Cattiva View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cattiva Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: SOMEONE - ANYONE pls help regarding botched perm !
    Posted: March 13 2007 at 2:49pm
Hello all, I am new here: first posting -- need help.
I have blonde (colored) hair - original color is light brown/dirty blonde... now also with gray for sure. I have shoulder length hair that I have been growing out from super-duper short for about two years. I have lots of wonderful curls underneath, but very thick hair and the top-most layers are more just wavy/straight, so in order to enjoy and maximize the curls better, I have been using various curl-enhancer/activator creams and blow dry w/diffuser to keep the overall curly look. This works fine and I was very happy with the look - healthy, kind of retro, BUT - it took sooooo long to do my hair and in my infinite wisdom, I thought if I got a spiral perm it would give me the overall curl that I wanted without all the products and time to get ready -- wash n' wear -- so to speak.
Here is the problem: the gal that permed my hair shampooed AND conditioned my hair before perming and the perm didn't take so well... duh. I have tiny (stupid) spirals near the top of the hair shaft (near roots) but the bottom 3-4" of each is totally straight and looks like crap-o-la. Shocked