Banishing Bad Hair Days since 1997!™
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Growing out short, layered hair

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Jeni View Drop Down
Unregistered
Unregistered
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jeni Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Growing out short, layered hair
    Posted: June 09 2003 at 10:18am
I have very thick, frizzy, wavy hair and I usually keep it very short (think Halle Berry's short 'do). Well I am getting married in 14 months so I decided to grow it long because I want to put it up for the wedding - plus I'm getting a little tired of having super short hair (I've had short hair for 7 years).

I have been growing it for 6 months and it has gotten considerably longer...the first week of January I got it cut very short (it was spiky) and now I can fit most of it into a pony tail minus the very front part of my hair which is just slightly too short to fit into the ponytail.

The problem I'm now having is that the bottom of my hair, near the ends, is full of the growing-out layering and it looks HORRIBLE. If I straighten my hair it looks ridiculous because the ends are so choppy and layered. I have been scrunching it to wear it curly to hide the layers, which works, but then my hair is a tangled, ratty mess the next day - and yes I use good quality shampoo and conditioner every single day.

I really want to get the layering cut off the bottom and grow it out from there, but the next longest layer is just slightly past where my skull stops and my neck starts, so basically I'd have a super-short bob. I'm just worried if this will look ok or not, because my hair is so wavy and bushy. I also don't know if I want to take that much off the end of my hair yet - it would look so much shorter than it does now!

Any suggestions?
loveshorthair View Drop Down
Super Elite Member
Super Elite Member