Banishing Bad Hair Days since 1997!™
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Homemade Hair Recipes - damaged hair

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
francheskab View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote francheskab Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Homemade Hair Recipes - damaged hair
    Posted: December 05 2012 at 2:22pm
Good afternoon, I am a newbie Smile

Ladies, I need some serious advise.  I am a "bi-racial" mother of a little girl, who didn’t inherit my "bi-racial" hair.  With that being said. I feel like I am totally lost when it comes to combing her hair. I suck big time.  Over the course of a few years, her hair had grown long and thick from a regimen of hair greases that I concocted together when she was a baby.  Well, I got a little more than I bargained for.  Her hair became three times the thickness of mine, and nowhere near the same texture. Not to mention she is severely tender-headed.

To make my life easier, (I'm so ashamed to say this, but here it goes) I permed her hair a couple years ago. Not very frequently, (three times within an 18 month period, once every six months). As the new growth started to come in, I would put her hair in braids with beads at the end. (I know that's so old school, but it was cute) As a result her hair has broken off, tremendously. Her hair is severely dry and hard for me to take care of.

Disapprove

I refuse to perm it again, and am looking for a (shampoo/deep condition) remedy to help repair, her hair and grow it out.  Also a pudding/butter (but not too greasy), that I can use for everyday styling. 

I have spent hundreds of dollars trying to find the right product, but haven't found it yet.  I like to use thick creamy products, that will hold/lay her hair down, as well as moisturize in the process. Any suggestions?  (sorry for the novel)

Have a *´¨)
¸.•´¸.•*´¨) ¸.•*¨)
(¸.•´ (¸.•´ * Wonderful day!
Rachel S View Drop Down