Banishing Bad Hair Days since 1997!™
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Problem with strand test

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
adivamom View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote adivamom Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Problem with strand test
    Posted: October 16 2008 at 8:55am
I am going to attempt highlights in my hair today so I tried doing a strand test last night. My hair color now is about an 8 and I want light blond highlights. I am using 20volume developer with Prism Lights Neutral. The problem is that the ends turned out a bit orangy. I left it on for 40 min. I checked it at 30 and it did not seem light enough. Do you think that I need a 30 volume developer? Or did I just not leave it on long enough? I am totally new to this and don't want to mess this up. Also, can anyone provide information regarding toner? Do I also need to use a toner? One more question. If I am to leave it on for 30 min and it takes 15 min to apply, should I start checking the back in 15 min? I know my stylist usually leaves it on the full 30 min, but she is quick at applying it. Thanks in advance.
Susan W View Drop Down
Elite Member
Elite Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Susan W Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: October 17 2008 at 12:39pm
You're saying your color now is an 8, that means its not your natural color...  If you've just lifted it up to an 8 in the past, you'll be okay going lighter, but if you've ever used anything that darkened it to an 8 from a lighter shade, you'll have to remove the dye.