Banishing Bad Hair Days since 1997!™
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Nutrition advice needed for hair growth

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Purdy Bear View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Purdy Bear Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Nutrition advice needed for hair growth
    Posted: March 06 2010 at 3:59am
Hi, Im a newbie here, this is only my second post. 

I have Alopecia and have lost about 90% of my hair.  Im very interested in nutrition and hair growth.

I would love to hear what you all recommend I eat/drink for better hair regrowth.

Im also interested in what those with healthy hair eat.

Infact any tips and advice you can all give me.

Thanks
Purdy

butterscotch View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote butterscotch Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May 04 2010 at 1:38am
Hi,

I notice you haven't had many replies.

I'm not sure what caused your Alopecia but it is true that healthy diet and exercise can aid in hair growth.

I read that a protein rich diet helps and drinking lots of water also.

I had alopecia at my hairline although it was self inflicted from tight weaves. My hair is growing back (slowly) since I started adding vitamins and supplements to my diet.

Like MSM - I also heard that MSM helps prevent stretch marks becuase of the sulfur content but that's another subject entirely.Embarrassed Biotin is supposed to be good.

Edited by Karen Shelton - September 24 2010 at 7:28am
jailynstanton View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jailynstanton Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: September 23 2010 at 4:01am

If your hair is dry and breaks easily, it is probably a lack of essential fatty acids. By including plenty of good sources of essential fatty acids in your diet you can give your hair back its strength and lustre.