Forum Name: Hair Color
Forum Description: The tricks and tribulations of changing your hair color
URL: http://talk.hairboutique.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=50343
Printed Date: October 31 2014 at 5:35am

Topic: hair color causing grey hair
Posted By: goliath101
Subject: hair color causing grey hair
Date Posted: February 13 2007 at 6:00pm
Hi you all. I've been following this thread and have learn a lot from people who took time to make helpful advises. I have been coloring my hair for almost 2 years using permanent hair color. Lately, I have switch to using Herbatint permanent hair color because of its no ammonia and lesser chemicals to cover my 10-20% greys.  I do this every 5-6 weeks time on my dark brown hair. My question is will permanent hair color accelerate more greys as opposed to not coloring. How about Grecian For Men and Youthair, whats your take on this and will they do the same.  I hope that anyone out there who have knowledge or have colored their hair longer will help me on this. Your needed advise will be much appreciated. 

Replies:
Posted By: Alayney
Date Posted: February 15 2007 at 1:51am
Gray hair is caused by hereditary factors only, not from dyeing.

Date Posted: February 19 2007 at 4:14am
Thanks for your comments. However, I heard that hair dyeing for too long will eventually cause more greying. I don't want to get too many grey hairs fast cuz I'm thinking of dyeing for a long time. How about using Grecian for Men and Youthair? How safe is lead acetate, its active ingredient? Hope to get answers from members and moderators as well. Thanks.

Posted By: sofine
Date Posted: February 21 2007 at 12:04pm