Banishing Bad Hair Days since 1997!™
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Forum Lockedscissors

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Sabrina View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sabrina Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: scissors
    Posted: January 12 2000 at 5:29am
> Does the type of scissors that you trim your hair with> really matter? The scissors I've seen that are> specified for hair are usually around $10- $15. I use> just all-purpose around the house type of scissors for> around $2.00.> But, that's all I use them for. I thought that as long> as they are sharp, that's all that matters. I use them> trim split-ends, not to create a style. Thanks for> your help!i am a lisenced hair stylist. the type of shears(what we call them) makes a huge difference. the shears i have cost me 250.oo dollars and thats a good price. why do we spend so much? if i used a pair that cost 10 dollars i would have to throw them away after one days work. we spend so much because the better quality and sharper they are the longer they last and the less we have to get them sharpened. i know people that refuse to cut dry hair because it damages our shears. Even if you have alot of stlying products on your hair and you dont get it shampooed dulls them. i have a cheap pair that cost around 30 dollars for strictly cutting dry hair. The best hair cut you will get is with a clean wet head. your stylist will be apprecitative. Ive given free shampoos and stlyes just because i had toshampoo a clients hair she had so much hairsray on. if you can very easily comb through your hair wet with hairspray on it, your stylist wont have such a bad problem. but if i was to use a dull pair on your hair, yes your ends would get damaged quiker and have more split end.
Clare View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Clare Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: January 12 2000 at 5:24am