Banishing Bad Hair Days since 1997!™
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Just an Opinion

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
`Ren View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote `Ren Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Just an Opinion
    Posted: July 13 2002 at 11:35am
Hi. This is my first time in this forum and I`m learning a great deal from what I`ve read, but it seems like their are a lot of African American women who really aren`t happy with who they are. I mean, don`t misquote me here, it`s important to take care of what God has blessed you with (meaning your hair), but I think sometimes we place too much of a priority on long hair. Who do you think gave us the mindset that longer is better? Europeans did way back in the days of slavery. It seems to me that we should try and end that cycle and start being happy with what we have. I was blessed with extremely long hair up until my first perm at age 13. My hair went from waistlength to neck length at one point. I was severely depressed for a long time thinking about how my hair used to be. But then I realized that God had bigger plans for me outside of pouting over my hair. So I moved on with my life. I learned to be happy with the person God made me to be, in his own image. My hair is now recupperating. It is natural and I have developed an easy way to take care of it. I wash it using Luster`s Shampoo and Conditioner, I sometimes deep condition my hair or use a hot oil treatment, I comb my hair in sections and spray a leave in conditioner in it. If I want to wear my hair naturally, I use Paul Mitchell holding gel (medium) mixed with water and VO5 curl refiner and run it through my hair after oiling my scalp with a petroleum based oil. I don`t care what people say, black hair needs to be oiled. Down here is the south, lite oils make no difference, especially with summer humidity. My curls will stay for a week and if I want to redifine them, al