Banishing Bad Hair Days since 1997!™
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

How do you determine your hair type?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
blackhoney112 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote blackhoney112 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: How do you determine your hair type?
    Posted: October 20 2005 at 12:42pm
Hi everybody I am a newbie and I was wondering how you determine your hair type? I see the symbols 4a/b etc. and I am not sure how to determine my hair type...thanks in advance for the info!
Hair album
pw:Romeo
Pokahontas View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Pokahontas Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: October 20 2005 at 1:21pm

Go to this site.....http://naturallycurly2.com/curl411/types.php

If your hair is relaxed you need to have a few inches of new growth. HTH!

aseya View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote aseya Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: October 21 2005 at 4:20pm
Ok..here's my problem with the typing chart (is that what its called?)..according to naturallycurly.com, I would be a 3a/3b. But according to some of the charts I've seen on the BlackHairMedia board, it's not curly enough to be a 3 and I'd be a 2b/c??
Are you supposed to check your hair when it dries naturally? Because when I use a curling balm I can get it quite curly, but when I let it airdry it just has a slight wave to it.
Renee View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Renee Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: October 21 2005 at 6:02pm
are you relaxed or natural? you cant tell your hair type until you have lots of newgrowth or you remember what your hair looked like when it was natural

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Pokahontas Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: October 22 2005 at 6:31am