Banishing Bad Hair Days since 1997!™
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Burnt Smell after Straightening

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
*~earthangel*~ View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote *~earthangel*~ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Burnt Smell after Straightening
    Posted: November 02 2005 at 8:09am

Hey guys, Im new at this but i have been reading up on all of the post for the past few months and have found it to be really informative. I have been natural for the past three years and was clueless as to how to maintain my natural afro but thanks to this site and your posts I now love my hair as i know have wealth of information on how to care for it. Thanks again you guys

Anyway here is my question: I recently got my hair straightened for the first time since i went natural so that i cud get my ends. Like most of you i too am afraid of stylists so i avoided a trim because of a bad experience years ago. I was surprised at how long my hair was and i was so excited but after the straightening i was left with a burnt smell in my hair that would not go away. I didnt use an antifrizz serum or heat protectant ( I know my badd). Can some one tell me how to prevent this in the future or recommend a nice heat protectant that will leave my hair smelling nice?

My Fotki

[url=http://www.pikistrips.com/clicked/24680082][/ur
BrownEyez2 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BrownEyez2 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: November 02 2005 at 10:28am
I'd recommend to definitely use a heat protectant next time. Also make sure the heating tool you're using is not too hot as this may burn/scorch the hair and give off that "burnt" smell. Another thing, which I'm sure you know not to do, is to not press/flat iron dirty hair. Be sure it has been freshly washed, apply your heat protectant and you shouldn't get that smell at all. ~hth~