Banishing Bad Hair Days since 1997!™
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

brassy roots

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
shellygf View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shellygf Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: brassy roots
    Posted: February 10 2008 at 12:06pm

HELP! I dyed my own roots  instead of going to a salon and they turned an awful shade of brassy orange. My natural hair color is medium brown and I've been highlighting and lowlighting for over 20 years. I tried using blue viloet shampoo and conditioner and it helped a little, but then I tried to "fix" my brassy roots with a gray-ash color by Wella called lightest pearl blonde and a 20 volume developer.  I left it on for an hour because nothing was happening.  Well, the result was worse than before! My roots are screaming orange! My husband said I'll have to wear a hat to bed so he can sleep because they're so bright! I think I'm done trying to do it myself, because I'm out of tricks.

My question is, can a salon fix my roots?  The only good thing, is that I haven't ruined the condition at all - the roots are actually pretty soft, which is a relief considering how much garbage I've put into it this past week. What can I expect at a salon in order to fix my roots and what should I make sure they do or don't do?  I can't believe how awful my hair is!  I will only go out with a hat or kerchief until this is fixed!!
Thanks for all good advice.
lovetocolor View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lovetocolor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: February 10 2008 at 12:27pm
you could try the brown protien filler from sally's and see if that takes the brass out.....it might fix the problem so that you don't need to put another color on it....i had an incident happen that turned red on me because i didn't use the brown protein filler....it won't hurt your hair.
happy coloring