Banishing Bad Hair Days since 1997!™
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Hair bleaching gone wrong! Advice needed...

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Aristides View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Aristides Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Hair bleaching gone wrong! Advice needed...
    Posted: August 24 2009 at 10:55pm
Oh boy, did I go wrong.

I'm a hair color newbie and I wanted to bleach my dark brown highlighted hair, then tone it to a medium / dark ash blond. I did a lot of research on bleaching hair beforehand.

So I bleached my hair twice with 30 volume purple bleach for about an hour. After the second bleach my hair felt very damaged in the shower so I've decided not to bleach it further. My hair is currently yellowish with brassy undertones, orange near the top and sides and a bit hot on the roots (though I did them last).

I used a blue / violet toner over the bleached hair: Wella White Lady and Silver lady. It helped but I still have a ton of orange near the top.

What are my options at this point? I still want that very cool, medium to dark blond but I don't know if it's possible.

The color I wanted (used a makeover website):

After 2 bleach sessions:

After toning: (my current hair color)

UPDATE: Used a semi-permanent in level 8 light ash blonde that runs dark- my hair is now a cross between a dark natural blond and light brown (looks slightly redder than the photo). In a month when the SP fades I'll attempt a third bleach to remove any orange and get a true medium blond. Thanks!

MY CURRENT HAIR COLOR (directly after coloring):

Edited by Aristides - August 27 2009 at 6:06am
Jojoswr View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jojoswr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: August 25 2009 at 7:04am