Banishing Bad Hair Days since 1997!™
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Man with long ginger hair needs help ASAP!

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
UnknownXY View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote UnknownXY Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Man with long ginger hair needs help ASAP!
    Posted: March 06 2013 at 8:58pm
I am a man with long BRIGHT red hair, down to the bottom of my shoulder blades. I LOVE my hair! Even on my worst hair days I am getting compliments every day, I am rather new to having long hair and do not really know how to care for it. I am looking for ways to tame my wild hair.

Generally this is how my hair care regimen goes. I LIGHTLY shampoo my hair, enough to get the dirt out, but not enough to strip the oils from my hair, my hair seems to need them. Then I rinse my hair when I shower until it feels oily, then shampoo again.

Here is my issue. Even when lightly shampooing and conditioning my hair goes unbelievably frizzy. If I put enough shampoo in to the point that there is an actual lather the outcome is shocking, even with conditioner! A day or two after I lightly shampoo it, it looks fantastic, and I can keep that going for another two or three days. If I shampoo to the point of a lather, it takes a week to get it to no longer be frizzy. Even using these anti frizz serums does not put a dent in it.

My hair is what I would call "gently curly". If I shower without shampooing and just let my hair dry naturally, it has these wonderful slight curls to it and it looks amazing, but even brushing my hair while wet removes the curls except for at the very ends. Brushing my hair when dry under any circomestances results in a rather astonishing display of a frizzy voluminous mess, it would make a lion proud, but not much else.