Banishing Bad Hair Days since 1997!™
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

I feel *so* bad for my piano student

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
The OTHER Dawn View Drop Down
Unregistered
Unregistered
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The OTHER Dawn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: I feel *so* bad for my piano student
    Posted: January 11 2000 at 9:12pm
Hi! I am a piano teacher, and today one of my 11 year old students came to her lesson w/ her previously long, healthy, beautiful mid-back length hair hacked off into a pixie cut. She was almost in tears, and told me that her mother made her cut her hair for some strange, unknown reason. This girl is *very* mature for her age, and takes care of her own hair, so there was no legitimate reason for this haircut. I'm wondering if it gave the mother a power trip, or was motivated by jealousy, or *what*. It is one thing to have short hair if you want it, but it is quite another thing to have a forced haircut. What is up w/ this? I wanted to scream at this mother, and tell her what a witch she is, but I couldn't. I tried to comfort my student by telling her that when she is older, she can grow her hair as long as she wants to. Have any of the rest of you ever seen psycho moms forcing haircuts on kids that ARE old enough to take care of their own hair?DawnRelated Link:Dawn's Secret Garden
Zorak View Drop Down
Unregistered
Unregistered
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zorak Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: January 11 2000 at 9:12pm