Banishing Bad Hair Days since 1997!™
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Forum LockedStylist Dilemma

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Ally View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ally Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Stylist Dilemma
    Posted: January 12 2000 at 2:42am
Hello!I've been posting to this board for several months now, and I have always been rather verbose on the subject of getting what you want from your stylist.I have a slightly different problem. My colorist/stylist does a phenomenal job, gives me the attention I require, etc. Sometimes she's strong-willed and pushy, but I can handle it. I consider it an acceptable trade-off because she is so talented.The problem is this: She is a single mother who is experiencing financial difficulty. Every time I go to see her now, she very aggressively pushes extra products and services on me. She urges me to buy new shampoo and conditioner even though I tell her I have plenty. She keeps adding to the list of products I "should be using." She keeps pressuring me to make an appointment to come in and have my hair elaborately styled with jeweled clips, etc., even though I have no formal events coming up--"just to see what it looks like." When I murmur "Maybe" and try to change the subject, she whips out her appointment book and tries to get me to make a date. She also insists I should be having my hair trimmed monthly instead of every three months. (She never used to say that.)Her prices are inconsistent and subtly jacked up lately--so I never pay the same fee twice.How do I handle this without going elsewhere? I feel anxious whenever I go in, fearing that perhaps (as Gigi pointed out) that she will do a bad job to help prove her "point" that I'm not spending enough money on hair. But I doubt anyone else could mix my color so perfectly....Stymied,Ally
pam View Drop Down
Unregistered
Unregistered