Banishing Bad Hair Days since 1997!™
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Forum LockedStrip Color or Re-Dye?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Alicia View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Alicia Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Strip Color or Re-Dye?
    Posted: January 12 2000 at 5:44am
I have been coloring my hair for 8 years and would like to go natural for awhile. What are the pros and cons of stripping the color out versus coloring it to match my roots? If I choose to strip it, should I get it done professionally or is it easy and safe to do myself? I'm trying to grow my hair out and gain condition so I would like to do whichever one is my best for my hair. I like the idea of stripping it back to natural rather adding yet another dye-job that may not match perfectly or might fade but I don't know if that's bad for hair. Thank you for any opinions you can toss my way!
Tammy View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tammy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: January 12 2000 at 5:44am
> If you decide to strip it back to your own color I would go to a salon. You do not want to get the wrong color and have to do it again. Or, instead of stripping it or re-dyeing it, you might want to just keep putting a semi-permanent color, like Shades, on it until your natural color grows in completely. This would help in terms of camoflaging your old color while the new grows in underneath. You would probably have to get Shades applied in a salon every 4-6 weeks. This would also be much better for your hair. Good luck!
helen View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote helen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: January 12 2000 at 5:46am
Similar question here. Also of concern to me is that my natural shade is *much* lighter than it is colored. What's my best bet?
Lisa View Drop Down