Banishing Bad Hair Days since 1997!™
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Test Hair Install! (pic-heavy, dialup bew

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
zapevaj View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zapevaj Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Test Hair Install! (pic-heavy, dialup bew
    Posted: August 03 2005 at 1:15pm
So this is what I've been wearing for the past two months. I was curious how different brands of synth would wear, and I had like four of 'em sitting around, so I decided to put them all on my head at once. :) I used black ProStyles, white Trimco, pink Dome, and red Connect-2-Hair. Yes, THAT stuff, from softgentlebreeze. I have some interesting revelations about that stuff, too.

To install, I braided the hair in a three-way braid for about an inch and tied off with a rubberband. Which I would -not- recommend, btw, as they keep breaking and I have to re-do them; but I'm not coordinated enough to pinchbraid on my own head, so this is the best I could do. I just combed out my three-year-old natural dreads right before this, so I'm just getting used to doing my own sectioning properly. (Baby steps, baby steps.) I used a full bag of the ProStyles and Connect-2-Hair, and a half bag each of the Dome and Trimco; pretty good, considering I only have hair on the top of my head. The sides and back are about 1.5" long- it's a growing-out sort-of mohawk. It's piecey, too, 'cause they're giant braids. This is what I get for shaving two-thirds of my head; I have no hair. Oh well. The rest of my hair is dyed black, thin, and chin-length.

That's the first day it was installed. Sorry you can't see more of the hair; it was my graduation day, so people were taking photos more of my face than hair. I put it in hot rollers, and it was BOUNCY! The wave stayed in for a good two or three weeks, even with hot-water washing once or twice a week.