Banishing Bad Hair Days since 1997!™
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

hello! and any advice?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Dunebug View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Dunebug Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: hello! and any advice?
    Posted: September 21 2005 at 12:19am

Hi Ladies! I'm new to the diet board so I wanted to say hello and ask your advice. I'm 5'5" and I weigh about 150lbs, I'd really like to lose about 30 but I don't know if that will ever really happen, I'd probably be happy losing 20. I have been going to the gym for about 6 months now and have actually gained 5lbs since I started. I know muscle weighs more than fat, but isn't it supposed to burn more calories after you build it up?

I must confess I didn't make any real changes to my diet when I joined the gym, I figured I would have to lose weight sooner or later if I was eating the same but exercising more, but apparently that isnt the case.

I'm vegan so I have a pretty healthy diet being that I eat a lot of fruit and vegetables by necessity, I try not to eat too much stuff like bread, but thats really my weakness... and I make sure that I get enough protein, vitamins, etc etc

So basically I'm wondering why, if I eat a pretty good low fat balanced diet and excercise 3-5 times a week I'm not losing weight? Any ideas...?

Also, Does anyone have an opinion on the elyptical machines versus treadmills for cardio? According to the elyptical machine I burn off more calories per hour, but I feel like I work up more of a sweat and get my heart pumping much faster on the treadmill...

Kalika View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Kalika Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: September 21 2005 at 4:54am

the downside of working out is it makes you hungry.  as long as you eat sensebly then you should be fine.