Banishing Bad Hair Days since 1997!™
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

A Limit on How Long My Hair Can Grow?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Bibbles View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bibbles Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: A Limit on How Long My Hair Can Grow?
    Posted: December 17 2005 at 12:50pm
Hi!  I'm a newbie!  This question has probably been asked before but I'll try it anyway.

Is there a genetic limit on how long one's hair will grow?  I had an Anat and Phys professor tell us that your hair is pre-programmed to fall out and re-grow after a certain length of time which varies from person to person.

I've been stuck at this same length for many years now.

Thanks in advance!

Bibbles
Hellfrozeover View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hellfrozeover Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: December 17 2005 at 1:20pm
Hi Bibbles! Welcome to the forum. Can you go through what your hair routine is, e.g. blow drying etc and maybe we can help you out.
Sunsailing View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sunsailing Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: December 17 2005 at 4:58pm

Your professor is correct. The length that one can achieve is mostly due to genetics. On average one's hair grows about three years prior to falling out and going into a short "resting" period. Then it begins to regrow. So "rate of growth" + "length of growth period" = "terminal length". Some people have much longer growth periods and/or faster growth, thus they can grow longer hair.

I've always felt that the health of my hair was more important than length.

Bibbles View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bibbles Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: December 17 2005 at 10:47pm
Thanks for your replies.