Banishing Bad Hair Days since 1997!™
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

"mini braids"?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
letmecount123 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote letmecount123 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: "mini braids"?
    Posted: June 08 2006 at 11:59pm
I don't know what most people call them. Some call them corn rows, some call them mini braids, others micro braids...

Just wondering what the general concensus is on this style and if anyone else here ever uses it. I've been doing my own every summer for about 4 or 5 years now? The only pictures I have handy right now are from 2003 and 2005.

2003 (short hair and pudgy face, haha):

2005:

It took me NINE hours over the course of 3 days (I did it in sections) to put the braids in last year. There were something around 40 or so braids, I do believe.

I have no idea how "bad" this is for my hair or anything, but I really like it for water sports and camping, because you don't have to roll out of your tent in the morning and wonder how horrible/greasy your hair looks!

And it certainly brings a reality to just how much shedding occurs daily... because all that daily shedding is trapped in the braids for a few weeks and it ALL comes out in the shower. I freaked right out the first time it happened.

I'm not sure if I'm going to braid this year... I might if I have time before my lake trip, but I imagine it will take more than 10 hours this time around.

And not to waste making another post you fine people would have to click on, here is a May 14 progress picture! I have no idea what my length is right now as I left my tape measure at my other home 2 hours away.

Hellfrozeover View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hellfrozeover Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: June 09 2006 at 3:56am