Banishing Bad Hair Days since 1997!™
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

what i learned from experience

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
dacrow View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dacrow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: what i learned from experience
    Posted: April 14 2007 at 12:32am
I know I'm a newbie so I don't have too much credibility here, but this year I learned a lot about acne, and for the large majority of the year have been completely clear. I just turned 16 and I'm a male, placing me in the category for people most likely to have acne. But I managed to avoid it almost completely, yet not so much that I know I don't suffer from it at all. In other words, if I don't do the things below, then I do break out.

Overview: I am an asian male, age 16, my skin has small pores and is pretty light for an asian. Up until around August, I had mild acne on my face and pretty bad on my back. After reading up and talking to a doctor, I decided to cut out everything that had even the suspicion of causing acne. Some people disagree over diet, weightlifting, sexual activity, sun exposure, etc. this was a very big, unofficial experiment, and I found a lot of things out. Here are the things I did:

1. Cut down on sugar, to around 60 grams a day (by the way, the FDA reccomends 40-50 I think, but I have a really bad sweet tooth.
Dairy is OUT. Every time I would make a little exception, I would begin to break out a little. Dark chocolate in small amounts is ok since it has no milk.