Banishing Bad Hair Days since 1997!™
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Have you shaved your head? What about wigs?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
joyology View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote joyology Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Have you shaved your head? What about wigs?
    Posted: October 22 2013 at 11:32pm
I am looking to gain insight from women who once had medium or long hair, but who have cut their hair extremely short or shaved it. I am also looking for women who can provide me with insight on wearing realistic wigs.

Me and my hair issues:

I am a 26 year old woman who has a mixed racial background.

My hair: Poofy, curly/wavy, but FINE, soft, and brittle (like baby hair). My hair is medium length (in the back) and just touches my shoulders. Because of the nature of my hair, I have been straightening it regularly (with a flat iron) for the past 10 years. I wear my hair in low or regular ponytails (the shape of my hair makes it impossible to style in any other ways) I have chemically straightened my hair twice in my life. I have a very bad habit of playing with my hair (especially in the front/"bangs"). Because of the "mullet-like" shape of my hair, I wear a lot of bobby pins.

Condition of my hair: As a result of continuous, mostly mechanical and physical, damage I have developed a mullet-type hair structure. The hair in the front and on the crown of my head is about 3" in some spots, and between 1-2" in others due to extremely severe break.The back is shoulder length (6" or so).

My hair breaks off and falls out constantly. I wear a satin cap to bed, but even though it has not prevented/stopped the breakage, it prevents me having small pieces of broken hair all over my pillow and in my bed.