Print Page | Close Window

I want my long hair back

Printed From: HairBoutique.com
Category: Long Hair Happenings
Forum Name: Long Hair Support
Forum Description: Growing it long takes commitment and support.
URL: https://talk.hairboutique.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=45911
Printed Date: September 29 2024 at 4:33am

Topic: I want my long hair back
Posted By: Tobe
Subject: I want my long hair back
Date Posted: August 05 2006 at 6:19am
Hey. I'm in a bit of a dilema with my hair right now. I'm growing it (although I have been for years) but I've not been treating it properly so it's incredibly damaged. It's naturally curly but I've never learnt how to get my curls to behave so I've been straightning it practically everyday for the past 4 years, which has not made it happy at all, as you can imagine. So over the summer break I decided to wear it naturally to give it a chance to grow. I did that and was very happy with the lovely ringlets I managed to get by just leaving it to dry without touching it from the moment I was out the shower. To my delight it grew about an inch in under a month, taking it to below my bra stap. Of course, I still had all that damage though. A S&D was no use because almost every hair was split, so I did what I vowed never to do again and made an appointment with the hairdresser. Now I remember why I made that vow! A trim became 5 inches and I managed to let her convince me into getting layers. I hate it now. I can't wear it naturally because it is just a frizzy mess, no matter what I do. I'm not getting the ringlets any more because of the layers and it's at the awkward lengh I spent forever waiting for it to grow past. Grrrr!!! So I've gone back to my straightners. I hate it though because I've only straightned it three times since the cut and already its split everywhere. As pathetic as it sounds, I've actually been in tears a few times out of furstration. I really don't know what to do. I'm due to henna it soon, so hopefully that'll make me happ