Print Page | Close Window

Afro Blues

Printed From: HairBoutique.com
Category: African American Hair
Forum Name: African American Hair
Forum Description: Devoted to the special needs of African Americans.
URL: https://talk.hairboutique.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=65650
Printed Date: May 19 2024 at 10:39am

Topic: Afro Blues
Posted By: Nanie2five
Subject: Afro Blues
Date Posted: December 30 2009 at 8:29pm

Hi Everyone,

I am a newbie and very happy I found this site.  I can't see to find a resolution to my problem.  I have worn my hair in an afro for a year now (coming out of a relaxed style).  While it's easy and healthy for my hair, my problem is that I can't get a decent cut.

I simply CANNOT find a single hair stylist that is able to cut my hair in a "style".  Years ago, (I know I'm dating myself hereLOL), you could walk into a barbershop or hairdresser and they actually had posters with maybe 30 or so actual afro "styles".  But not anymore.Confused  I'm speaking of a real clipper cut that keeps it's shape even when you wake up in the morning.  My hair type is soft but with a very tight curl pattern.  I keep it short, maybe 2 to 3 inches long. 

Whenever I find a barber that is willing to cut my hair, I have to go through a whole "thing" about the fact that I don't want my hair faded, I don't want a masculine cut, I just want my hair shaped nicely with the outline edges trimed but a softer "natural" look.  I can't begin to tell you my tight-lipped horror at some of the results. Wink