Print Page | Close Window

Tons of Blonde Requests!

Printed From: HairBoutique.com
Category: Hair Talk
Forum Name: Hair Politics
Forum Description: The politics of Hair is a slippery slope...
URL: https://talk.hairboutique.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=68189
Printed Date: March 28 2024 at 3:36pm

Topic: Tons of Blonde Requests!
Posted By: SloGinFizz
Subject: Tons of Blonde Requests!
Date Posted: March 02 2011 at 5:11pm
Ok- So I am a newbie here and figured this would be a good entrance into this forum.

I have been a colorist/stylist for about 2 years now and as I have seen more and more clients I'd have to say that the #1 request I get- especially in the spring and summer- is blonde. Obvi....

Now- usually I get a request for some highlights or or just lightening up a couple of shades. However, more and more I have been getting the all out blonde request. Everything from warmer more natural tones to the all out "the the way" look.

I post this because I have had some clients, and one most recently- make the blonde request and do so in a very determined matter despite my putting them on notice that naturally dark, dark brunette hair cannot nor should not go platinum in one sitting, despite what you see on Top Model. Or requested shades dont match skin tone.  Ofcourse I want to give my clients what they ask for, but I also want them to LOVE the way they look when they get up from my chair.

Anyway, 3 out of 4 of these requests, I find, come with boyfriend or husband backing or suggestion. The boy loves Carrie Underwood's hair or Katherine Heigl or Jessica Simpson.