Print Page | Close Window

Big Decision?

Printed From: HairBoutique.com
Category: Hair Talk
Forum Name: Hair Politics
Forum Description: The politics of Hair is a slippery slope...
URL: https://talk.hairboutique.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=8493
Printed Date: April 26 2024 at 8:26pm

Topic: Big Decision?
Posted By: Christy
Subject: Big Decision?
Date Posted: January 11 2000 at 9:18pm
I know this must sound trivial to some,but I have a major change to consider.I'm a recent college graduate,and just entered the business world.My problem is the pressure from others to conform to their standards.Ever since I can remember,I've been a fan of the 60's.I guess I was born in the wrong era.Since I was a young girl,I let my hair grow long,wore little or no makeup and worn basically T-shirts and jeans.So far it's been quite an adjustment to wear business suits,nylons,heels and makeup!The big problem is my hair.I've always had very long hair and usually wear it the same way,in a long braid,down loose, pull the sides up with barrettes, or for special occasions set or curl it.Now for work, I've been trying various up-do's.After wearing it down and braiding it for so many years,it's been quite a change wearing it up.The problem I have wearing it up, is it comes down quite a bit,and can be embarassing and a big pain.Right now my hair is very healthy, thick and straight,one lenght and down about 5-6" above my waist.Last week,for the first time in 6 years I went to a salon for a trim.I arrived at the salon afer work in my business attire with my hair pulled back in a French Twist held in place with a hairclip and pins.When I got in the chair, and let my hair down ,the stylist seemed pretty amazed by the length of my hair.My hair then was dowm below my butt,to the middle of my thighs.We made some small talk and I told her of my new job and the adjustment from college to work.Right away she assumed I wanted a new look and pulled up my hair and held it out and said I'd look good in a nice sh